The ishs/Allen Project

2015 album by The ishs/Allen Project

The ishs/Allen ProjectTracks:

  1. A Place in the World
  2. Train
  3. Welcoming Spring
  4. Handholding
  5. Science
  6. Understanding
  7. Veiled Beauty
  8. Above the Desert
  9. Little Flower
  10. Guildford Lane

Formats: CD and digital download

Released by ade ishs Music (AIM08).

Musicians: ade ishs (acoustic piano, voice, glockenspiel, and melodica), Chelsea Allen (drums and voice), Paul Bonnington (semi-acoustic and electric basses), Ee Shan Pang (trumpet, flugelhorn, and voice)

The debut, self-titled album release from The ishs/Allen Project presents a collaboration between composer/pianist ade ishs and drummer Chelsea Allen. Across a range of styles, lyrical melodies combine with elegant and sweeping compositions, which are realised in a series of performances in a quartet format. The album features performances by ade ishs and Chelsea Allen, plus regular band members, Paul Bonnington and Ee Shan Pang.

[maxbutton name=”Std” url=”” text=”Buy CD/Download” ]

[maxbutton name=”Std” url=”” text=”Amazon” window=”new”] [maxbutton name=”Std” url=”” text=”iTunes” window=”new”]


Often sparse and understated, always elegant, this debut album for The ishs/Allen Project delivers wonderfully complementary pieces, each painted in warm harmonic brushstrokes, framed in thoughtful arrangements, and recorded to perfection.
— Peter Neville (Head of Percussion and New Music Studio, Melbourne Conservatorium of Music)

Both band leaders, pianist ade ishs and drummer Chelsea Allen, hailing from Melbourne, Australia, are very accomplished players, honing their techniques of their principle instruments through this contemporary/traditional jazz-fueled collaboration.
— Lola Johnson (Tom Tom Magazine, USA)

… the Project have produced something not very common in jazz, an album that reeks of a positive vibe, very uplifting, almost joyful.
— Michael Prescott (Jazzwise Magazine, UK)

This new album has pushed the bar for all other Australian contemporary acts. These talented musicians have worked together to create one of the best jazz albums out at the moment. With praise from the jazz community pouring in, this group is one to watch for the future.
— Sharni White (cargo ART Magazine, Australia)

Comments are closed.